Well, I guess this post should actually be titled just "Eating in Memphis – Days 2, 3 & 4", but for the sake of continuity I shall continue the series.

Due to my schedule, and also due to the fact that I did not want to deal with cabs – and cab fares – nor with the hassle of arranging and securing a rental car, I did not make it to some of the places I had quasi-planned to visit while I was here.  However, in retrospect – and I still have one more day to go here – if I had made it to every place on my list, there would have been no way I could have happily enjoyed eating all the foodstuffs from all the places on my list.  That would have been just too much food, too too much. Schedule-permitting, I will be back next year, so I can always cross and re-cross some of the places off my list.

If there’s any place that I do wish I could have gotten to this visit, it would have to be Dinstuhl’s Fine Candies.  Dinstuhl’s is famous for their Cashew Crunch and Chocolate-Covered Strawberries and Chocolate-Covered Raspberries, however, my favorite are their Chocolate-Covered Grapes.  Yes, Grapes!  -Just think of them as re-hydrated Chocolate-Covered Raisins.  *Alas, Dinstuhl’s website no longer – at least not presently – has a page for their chocolate-covered fruit pieces.  I wonder if they’re not shipping them anymore?

But, again, I did partake of some pretty good eatin’ while I was in town.  In addition to my first ever visit to Catfish Cabin, I made it back to two Memphis Institutions: The Cupboard and Huey’s.  The Cupboard is a classic "meat and three".  They moved into an old Shoney’s building a few years ago, but, from what I can tell, the food is still just as good as it was across the street and a few doors down in smaller quarters.  However, I do miss the "sloppiness" of the cornbread gem muffins – those crispy, muffin-top "crackers" were always a true treat.  Huey’s is known for their burgers, and for their "toothpick ceiling".  When I was here two years ago, I remember reading about how Huey’s had switched over from in-house, hand-formed hamburger patties, to ones made off-site for them, and, alas, I could tell the difference that change made during this visit.  It was not a bad burger, just not as good as it was the first few times I ate there.  However, the onion rings were still killer.

I also made my first visit to Marlowes this weekend.  I had heard some of the theatre staff talking about this place, and after looking it up on the web – and after realizing that most of my first dining choices were closed on Sundays – I took a chance, called them up, and arranged for one of their Pink Cadillac Stretch Limousines to come pick me up at my hotel.  The meal was great, but the limo ride was truly the most memorable part of the experience.

In order not to fill the main page of my blog up with additional pictures of my food selections here in Memphis, I’ve gone ahead and set up a separate page for anyone who wishes to view my "guilt".  Just click below.

Memphis Meals

